Finally! A very happy announcement!


We are very pleased to announce that “Moor: A Henna Atlas of Morocco” is now available for purchase!

Moor: A Henna Atlas of Morocco

Moor: A Henna Atlas of Morocco

The first book of its kind, “Moor” is the story of henna in Morocco, giving you a first-hand account of how the Moroccans use henna for magic, beauty, and protection. After more than a decade of research, Lisa “Kenzi” Butterworth and Nic Tharpa Cartier are proud to present their findings in this groundbreaking book.

“Moor” contains more than 40 pages of text covering the history and culture of henna in Morocco, as well as an in-depth design manual that gives step-by-step instructions for learning Moroccan design elements and creating authentic and beautiful Moroccan-style henna work. The book also features more than 20 full-color photos of Moroccan-style henna work, as well as over 100 pages of Moroccan henna patterns from traditional and modern sources. “Moor” is the first comprehensive manual covering all aspects of Moroccan henna, and will be invaluable to henna artists, fans of Moroccan culture, and anyone interested in the beauty and rituals of exotic lands.

The book is currently available as a digital PDF download, for $43, from hennatribe.com at the following link: http://www.hennatribe.com/books.php or as a full color printed and bound copies  through blurb.com at the cost of $52 for a softcover printing and $70 for a hardcover.

B’saha! Wear henna in good health!

4 Responses to “Finally! A very happy announcement!”

  1. This is the best day in my henna life EVER!

    Can’t wait to get my download link.

  2. kenzilisa Says:

    Yvette, you’re my favorite stalker…you always make me laugh!

  3. Wonderful, Lisa. Congratulations!

  4. I just wanted to say that Moor: A Henna Atlas of Morocco is even”more” (ha…ha) amazing than I expected! And I expected a LOT, knowing all the hard work that was put into it… The descriptions of the place henna has in Moroccan culture are particularly interesting to me… and the design manual is really helpful. There’s more detail in this book than I quite know what to do with… I imagine I’ll read it about three times through before I really feel like I’ve gotten everything out of it I can…and then on the fourth time a few years down the road I’ll surely re-discover something new!

    This book is basically like three quite substantial books in one. More than that, really…but let’s just say 3 to keep it simple 🙂 First, there’s a discussion of the history of Morocco and the place henna has in the culture there. Then there’s a manual of how to break down Fessi style designs – from major motifs, to layout, to fills and accents (again, I am glossing over this, and there’s even more…) followed by drool-worthy drawings of traditional designs in multiple Moroccan styles. And last but not least we have an entire book’s worth of original fusion designs from Nic and Kenzi…. some of which I am sure will become festival favorites this year, and others that brides will adore.

    Annnyway… I bought the PDF version because I COULD NOT WAIT to get my hands on it… I somewhat wish I had held out for the hardcover, as it is so gosh darn gorgeous, and you can see what care went into the layout of the book… the colors are amazing…my inkjet surely didn’t do it quite the justice it could have! I’ll be very glad to have the pages in an easily-displayable working festival binder… but otherwise suggest perhaps holding out for the hardcover, so you can really appreciate the beauty of this project. (or better….get both? PDF for festivals and whatnot, hardcover for your personal library….)

    Amazing job, guys… really.
    Everyone who loves henna needs to go buy Moor ASAP 🙂
    http://www.hennatribe.com/books.php

Leave a Reply

